Sparks of Insanity

Haphazard Explorations & Experiments In Fiction

All The Way Down

(After the End)


Staring at a blank wall I can’t help but wonder, could it ever have turned out differently? Was there some moment that passed me by, some opportunity for everything to play out another way? I mean if God made us all, then doesn’t that mean he made this way? Condemned. They say free will is his gift to us, but that sounds like an excuse. A cop-out for why, from one generation to the next, most of humanity ends up in hell. It’s not like we get a second chance. Reincarnation is a bunch of bullshit as far as I know.

Wishful thinking.

I’m not holding my breath for it, I can tell you that much. I sold my soul and it’s just not as easy as being reborn, doing things right next time around. No fucking way they let me off that easy. They told me I could work it off and reclaim ownership but… I should’ve known better. Acting as a servant of hell is no way to earn your way into heaven. I guess at the back of my mind I always hoped for purgatory. If I did enough, maybe they would just toss me to the side. Forgotten. No such luck though. The fallen don’t forget.

“Are you ready?” he asks, gun pressed to the back of my head.

Shrugging, I tell him, “I’m as ready as I’ll ever be.”

My handler, my sometimes partner in sin, my demonic friend… he steels himself and pulls the trigger. A bursting moment of pain and then I’m falling. I wonder what it’ll be like down there. Filled with all the most interesting people, a festival of sins? I suppose I could hope… but I hear they tell everyone entering to abandon that.


II. The Third Day

7 comments on “All The Way Down

  1. The False Prophet
    March 10, 2015

    Abandon all hope, ye of little faith. But for you, there still is hope, for as long as you shall live. Keep on blogging in a free world and have a prophet-able day – The False Prophet

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jack Sutter
    March 11, 2015

    Reblogged this on Heart of a Lunatic.

    Like

  3. Content Catnip
    April 6, 2015

    Love your blog Jack, keep on keeping it real my friend

    Liked by 2 people

  4. oogenhand
    April 14, 2015

    Reblogged this on oogenhand.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2015 by in This Is Hell and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,301 other followers

“And all our yesterdays have lighted fools the way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle! Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player that struts and frets his hour upon the stage and then is heard no more. It is a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.”
~William Shakespeare

